Quick and Easy Chicken and Dumplings

I love comfort food and especially the kind that my mama used to make.  Whenever I got to request a meal, it was always chicken and dumplings.  I loved the cloud like dumplings, and the chicken, and the gravy…..YUM!  My mom’s standard way of making chicken and dumplings is to take a whole chicken, cut it into pieces, cook it with some veggies, thicken the gravy, cook the dumplings, etc.  It’s time consuming.  Delicious, but time consuming.

A couple of months ago I was in a time crunch for dinner, but I really had a hankering for chicken and dumplings.  So I did what I do best and improvised.  That experiment has become one of my go to meals!  The family loves it, and it goes together very quickly.  I don’t have specific measurements for this, so you’ll have to improvise a bit too.  🙂

First things first:  Make a roux in a big pot with butter and flour.  I usually use a stick of butter and 1/2 cup of flour. If I have onions on hand, I’ll chop one up and saute it in the butter before adding the flour.

Next, stir in chicken broth. I kind of eye ball this depending on how much gravy I want. I think I normally use about 4-6 cups, maybe more. Chicken base and water are my friends for this part!

Once the roux and the broth have been incorporated and thickened, throw in whatever veggies you might have laying around in your fridge and freezer and some cooked chicken or turkey. Whenever I make a turkey, I freeze most of the meat to use in meals such as this. For the vegetables, I’ll throw in any leftovers and whatever sounds good from the freezer. This is typically peas, squash, beans, and maybe corn. I don’t necessarily use every type of vegetable I can find, but I do throw in at least two different kinds. Let this cook for a bit, until the frozen things are no longer frozen.

Now it’s dumpling time! This is my mom’s recipe for dumplings. I’m not entirely sure where she got it, but I do know that I will never be without it!

Fluffy Dumplings

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 Tbs. oil

Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt together.  Combine milk and oil; add to dry ingredients, stirring just until moistened.

Drop spoonfuls of batter atop bubbling stew.  Cover tightly; let mixture return to boiling.  Reduce heat (don’t lift cover); simmer 12-15 minutes.

We love dumplings so much that I usually double the dumplings!  So there you have a quick, easy one dish meal that everyone will love.

24 responses to “Quick and Easy Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Sounds so yummy! I will definitely have to try this recipe out!

  2. Oh YUM! I save a lot of turkey, too. I usually cook one during the holidays, even though we always eat at my inlaws. We like turkey THAT much!

  3. I can vouch that these are authentic Southern Style Dumplings! MMMM…dumplings!

  4. mmmmm this sounds SO good. I am going to try this with the family and see how it goes. I like to improvise when cooking as well. Thanks so much for the idea hon.

  5. When I was growing up the Jamaican ladies in our church always brought curry chicken with dumplings and it was the first dish finished! You had to be in line right away or you missed out. I tried making it many times over the years, but could never figure out how they did those amazing fluffy dumplings… I don’t eat chicken anymore, but my husband and son do, so I’ll pass the recipe on to them. 🙂

    • Oh do we ever love curry chicken in our house! I will definitely be making some dumplings to go on top next time we do curry. My mouth is watering now. Thanks for the tip!

  6. sounds good enough to try one of these days. The dumplings sound much like my mom’s recipe…she could really make Southern style chicken ‘n dumplings. We will try it soon.

  7. Growing up, chicken and dumplings was my favorite at Grandma’s house (she also did the whole chicken) and when we weren’t at her house, it was what I always ordered at Cracker Barrel (with a side “veg” selection of dumplings, thank you hehe). We live in rural China now and don’t eat a lot of western food but the weather turned really cold this week and we were craving winter comfort food, so we made a chicken and dumplings similar to this (with the roux, onion, and cooked chicken)… but for the dumplings we used squares of sticky rice cake 🙂 Amazingly, it worked pretty well!

  8. Yum! Now I’m hungry!

    Looking forward to checking out your blog some more. 🙂

  9. Sounds delicious! Chicken and Dumplings is one of my favorites but I don’t make it as much as I should…

  10. Yummy! I love new recipes. I’ve done a similar recipe with (storebought) gnocci. It’s fabulous! I add garlic & carrots to the onions when making the roux. May have to try your recipe tomorrow.

  11. Yummy! Sounds good! I’ll have to try this out.

  12. Yummmmmm! We love chicken and dumplings here, or as my kids say, “chicken and dunklins.”

  13. That sounds really yummy and easy and I’m putting that in next weeks meal plan! Thanks for sharing!

  14. I am going to try this…chicken and dumplings are one of my favorites and I have never, ever made it!

  15. I love chicken and dumplings! I’m gonna try this soon.

  16. Sounds delicious! This is going on my menu for the month!!

  17. Oh my goodness.. I love chicken and dumplings. I think I’ll make that next week!

  18. YUM. Adding this to my menu. I love chicken and dumplings and haven’t made it in ages. I’m a sucker for any recipe with EASY in the title. HA!

  19. Instant craving! I’m definitely going to try this 🙂

  20. Um . . . YUM! And so simple! I’ve made chicken and dumplings before, but the ingredients and measurements weren’t so easy to remember. Thanks for sharing!

  21. New recipe for my folder!!! Thank you!

  22. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading
    through your articles. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Thanks a ton!

Leave a Reply

