One Day I’ll Sleep

One day I’ll sleep.

One day I’ll wake up feeling rested.

One day I won’t need the nectar of life (aka coffee) to be functional.

One day I will be able to go to sleep at night and wake up only when it is morning.

One day I will be able to go to sleep without the ever present fear of being woken up as soon as I’m almost in deep sleep.

But…

One day I won’t get to see that peaceful sleepy face in the quiet of the night.

One day I won’t hear those delicate sighs or feel those tiny fingers searching for me.

One day I won’t be needed close by to feel safe and secure at night.

One day I won’t be woken up with a kiss like sleeping beauty and children jumping on my bed singing jingle bells.

One day will be here before I know it.

2 responses to “One Day I’ll Sleep

  1. Becky, I am enjoying your blog so much. I plan to share it w/ some of my colleges at school. We are on another snow day today…that makes 5 this year, so I am enjoying being home. I miss yesterday because I did something to my back and had to go to the doctor yesterday a.m. Another day of rest will be good for me. Love your “One Day” !!!!! Yes, one day you can sleep in, but when that day comes…you body doesn’t want to sleep in!! HA Enjoy those little ones…one day will come soon enough. Love all of you. Edie

  2. What a beautiful post. I will need to jot this down and keep it handy; especially since nights are a bit rough here right now (lots of nursing). You paint a beautiful word picture. I love your writing.

Leave a Reply

